top of page

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

The Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water is everywhere on the web. YouTubers have been talking about it forever, and it's amongst all of the blogs, but being an oily skinned woman, I never really wanted to buy into the hype until one of my friends told me I had to have it. £22.00 is a lot to spend on a spray bottle of water, I'll be the first to admit, but when I was in Manchester towards the start of the year I decided to have a bit of a splurge and pop this in my basket.

The claims of the Primer water are pretty fabulous. Smashbox advise that this is free of oil, silicone and alcohol, which is great news as alcohol is very harsh on the skin and is well known for bringing on the ageing process! They claim that it's packed with 'revitalizing electrolytes to wake up skin and restore moisture'. This spray is based around hydrating the skin to ensure that make up looks better. This can be used in three ways; to prime the skin ready for make up, to refresh the skin during the day, or to set make up after application.

In terms of the above uses, I've found that I prefer to use this as a setting spray. Primer water doesn't work well for me after moisturiser as I'm quite oily, and unfortunately this seemed to bring on the grease a lot earlier than I would have liked. In terms of setting however, I have found that this does keep my make up in place for a little longer when I've already applied and it's ready to go.

To be honest in regards to this product, I love having this on my make up counter, and it's nice to turn to it when I do want my make up locking into place, but unfortunately I just can't say that I would spend the money on this again. It's not a Holy Grail product for me, and is absolutely something that I could live without. I'm still yet to try a lot more setting sprays as I'm determined to find one that works for me, but I can't say Smashbox have filled that space.

What do you think? Do you use the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page